Collections attribute deprecation in version > 3.8

Hi everyone,

I have been using matplotlib for a few years now, and I am really happy with it, therefore I’d first like to thank everyone contributing to the module and to this forum.

I have a little question about the versions > 3.8. I am using the matplotlib.pyplot.contour and contourf functions, and I’d like to access each path individually, even if they are at the same level. To do so, I used to use the collections attribute and everything worked, but now there is this little message that worries me:

“MatplotlibDeprecationWarning: The collections attribute was deprecated in Matplotlib 3.8 and will be removed two minor releases later.”

Does anyone know what I could use instead ? I mean, my program is working atm, but I’d like it to work in a few months as well - and it definitely won’t if the collection attribute is removed and if I have no subtitute.

I have checked the documentation, but found nothing about a substitution. I may have missed it tho.

Thanks for reading that far,

Matu

Since the ContourSet now inherits directly from Collection, you can use the get_paths method. E.g.

cs = plt.contour(...)
paths = cs.get_paths()

I agree that this is not as obvious as it could be from the documentation.

1 Like

Hi rcomer,

Thank you very much for your immediate answer.
This works perfectly.

Cheers,

Matu

1 Like

@rcomer

Hello! I am having a similar problem here, but in my case, in the past I was doing:
for i, (level, path_collection) in enumerate(zip(ax.levels, ax.collections)):
Which allowed me to separate each path per level. It seems like ax.get_paths() will put them all together.
The second issue I am having is that in the past, I would get in return open paths, but now it seems I am getting closed paths. Is there any way I can get both open paths again and separation by levels?
Thanks very much for your help!

@jreniel there is now one path per level so you can do

cs = plt.contour([[0, 1], [1, 2]])