add_collection3d and PatchCollection

I’m trying to display several rectangles (from matplotlib.patches) in 3D. I thought it would be possible to use the add_collection3d method similar to the demo on the examples page:

http://matplotlib.sourceforge.net/mpl_toolkits/mplot3d/tutorial.html

However, when I call this method on a PatchCollection, I get an error at line 295 in art3d.py.

It expects the collection to have offsets, but offsets is None (by default) when I create the collection.

/opt/local/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.6/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mpl_toolkits/mplot3d/art3d.pyc in set_3d_properties(self, zs, zdir)

294 def set_3d_properties(self, zs, zdir):

–> 295 xs, ys = zip(*self.get_offsets())

296 self._offsets3d = juggle_axes(xs, ys, zs, zdir)

297 self._facecolor3d = self.get_facecolor()

ValueError: need more than 0 values to unpack

I am relatively new to Matplotlib, so I don’t know if this is a bug or it is just my own misunderstanding.

Here’s a simple example where I try it on a single rectangle and it fails with the above error message.

----start example

from mpl_toolkits.mplot3d import Axes3D

from matplotlib.collections import PolyCollection,PatchCollection

from matplotlib.colors import colorConverter

import matplotlib.pyplot as plt

from matplotlib.patches import Rectangle

import numpy as np

fig = plt.figure()

ax = fig.gca(projection=‘3d’)

rec = Rectangle((5,2),2,2)

recs = [rec]

col = PatchCollection(recs)

ax.add_collection3d(col, zs=[0.6], zdir=‘z’)

----end example

Graham

Graham,

Good catch, it is a bug. It is similar to one I encountered recently but have not gotten a response for.

The issue is that Patch3DCollection seems to be assuming that .set_offset() has been called on the original PatchCollection object, thereby setting the internal offsets. And, even if you do manually call .set_offsets(), the rest of the mplot3d code assumes that Patch3DCollection has .set_sort_zpos(), but it doesn’t.