Report to matplotlib-devel: problem installing matplotlib on Mac OS X - traced to missing dependency (workaround enclosed)

Message for matplotlib developers

I have posted a message on the matplotlib-users list, but it may be of interest to some in the -devel list as well. Here is an excerpt describing an installation problem, and workaround, that affects Mac OS X and matplotlib.

I am new to Python, and have tried installing matplotlib on a Mac OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard). In spite of excellent tools and documentation provided, the installation was unsuccessful:
- my computer is 10.6.6 (fully updated Snow Leopard)
- with full Xcode (c developers) code installed
- it reports Python 2.6.1 installed
- it installs packages such as numpy and biopython ok (which gives me a little confidence that I am doing things correctly)

But when I tried to install matplotlib 1.0.1, I encountered the following problems:
- the matplotlib mkpg .dmg files will not run as they advise Python 2.6 is required (but which is already installed!)
- upgrading to Python 2.7 did not fix this problem and the error message continued
- using tar and then installing via Python install files resulted in an unsatisfied compiler reference from "lipo"
- installing Python easy-install and using .egg scripts produced the same error message

A call for help on the matplotlib-users list produced a suggestion to go back to matplotlib 1.0.0 (not 1.0.1). This worked on one Mac, but did not work on a second Mac (with what I thought was identical configuration).
Finally, a general solution was found using MacPorts, as follows:

**update** matplotlib 1.0.0 setup worked on one but did not work on a second Mac OS X 10.6.6. The second one again failed with a missing dependency. It seems to depend on what previous packages may have been installed.
The following seems to be a complete fix:
1. On Mac OS X 10.6.x (in my case...6)
2. Install Apple Xcode (requires registration as an Apple developer)