'pyplot' interface and memory management

I have been using Matplotlib and Python for ~10 years or so and consider myself quite skilled. I just recently realized something that puzzled me and want to share my thoughts:

All Matplotlib tutorials, guides and examples usually start with import matplotlib.pyplot as plt. That’s fine and what I have been doing since day 0. I also very much like the object-oriented way of making plots and a typical plotting code can then be something like:

import matplotlib.pyplot as plt
import numpy as np

x = np.linspace(0.0, 1.0)
y = x**2

fig, ax = plt.subplots(1, 1)
ax.plot(x, y)
fig.savefig("parabola.pdf")

Which according to my own observations, is more or less a “textbook example” of very simple Matplotlib usage.

I have a program that generate plots from simulation results. Usually just a few, but at some rare occasions there can be hundreds. Recently I got the warning:

RuntimeWarning: More than 20 figures have been opened. Figures created through the pyplot interface (`matplotlib.pyplot.figure`) are retained until explicitly closed and may consume too much memory. (To control this warning, see the rcParam `figure.max_open_warning`).
  fig, ax = plt.subplots(1, 1)

And I was puzzled… Why do I have 20 figures open??? What?

I have my plotting nicely organized in a separate function, and my fig and ax objects are not automatically refcounted and deleted by the interpreter’s garbage collection???

I have been aware that there are the very-old-school and in my opinion extremely cumbersome matlab-like plotting functions like plt.plot(...), plt.xlabel(...) which require an explicit closing, like in Matlab, but I have always been under the impression that the modern object-oriented interfaces through fig and ax were not affected by this.

A solution to the memory leak and warning is to close the figure with plt.close(fig) apparently. However, this counteract some of the beauty of the OO-interfaces.