Place a plot in a figure

Hello, I hope that someone would be willing to give a complete newbie some help on how to get MatPlot to plot the below code properly. I am not a scientist or programmer, I am just trying to do something way outside my abilities. I want to replace the print() function with Matplotlib and have the output be visible within the figure generated by Matplotlib.

Thank you anyone for your help in advance! Nick

Here is the code:

# Python 3.0+ and 2.5+
try:
    from functools import reduce
except:
    pass

def mandelbrot(a):
    return reduce(lambda z, _: z * z + a, range(50), 0)

def step(start, step, iterations):
    return (start + (i * step) for i in range(iterations))

rows = (("*" if abs(mandelbrot(complex(x, y))) < 2 else " "
        for x in step(-2.0, .0315, 80))
        for y in step(1, -.05, 41))

print("\n".join("".join(row) for row in rows))

Do you have a sample figure? the ax.text method will print text to a matplotlib figure, but since you always have either “*” or “_”, ax.scatter(marker='*') should also do the trick

Hello, thank you so much for your reply. I will post pictures of the two different figures for you shortly.

Hello story645,
I placed ax.scatter(marker=’*’) into program, but it returned that ax was not defined.

Here is an image,

Mandelbrot#2 is the image where I tried to use Matplot. I was not allowed to upload two images, but the program above will generate the image Thank you for your interest! Nick

Please show your code. It looks like you have a bunch of strings and they are showing up as tick labels.