New user's question --- first run --- everything seems fine, got error msgs.

Dear all,

I’m an astronomy major college student in Beijing who recently switched to Python for most of his homework in numeric analysis and data visualization (and really loving Python). I run Python 2.5 with NumPy, SciPy and matplotlib on a Fedora 7 Linux system. The matplotlib on my computer was build from source but most of the required dependecies (incl. wxPython, gtk2-devel things, etc.) were installed from the “official” Fedora repository via yum. During compilation of matplotlib I set the BUILD_WXAGG variable to 1 and left everything else untouched.

The compilation was smooth but the first test run seems not. After invoking ipython with -pylab parameter I received the warning (and welcome) messages:

/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/IPython/Shell.py:709: DeprecationWarning: The wxPython compatibility package is no longer automatically generated or actively maintained. Please switch to the wx package as soon as possible.

import wxPython.wx as wx
Python 2.5 (r25:51908, Apr 10 2007, 10:29:13)
Type “copyright”, “credits” or “license” for more information.

IPython 0.7.2 – An enhanced Interactive Python.

? -> Introduction to IPython’s features.
%magic -> Information about IPython’s ‘magic’ % functions.
help -> Python’s own help system.
object? -> Details about ‘object’. ?object also works, ?? prints more.

Welcome to pylab, a matplotlib-based Python environment.
For more information, type ‘help(pylab)’.

I don’t understand what was said by the Deprecation Warning message. The wxPython on my computer is up-to-date.

Then I threw a test command to ipython and things seem to be wrong again. A typical session goes like this:

In [1]: # This is just a test plot. It generates a figure in the GUI with some warning message.

In [2]: plot([1, 3, 8, 0])

** (python:15301): WARNING **: IPP request failed with status 1030

Out[2]: [<matplotlib.lines.Line2D instance at 0x971648c>]

In [3]: