new_user matplotlib help

Sorry to bother everyone with this post.

I am new to matplotlib and python in general and am finding a problem that I don’t understand.

I’ve downloaded the scipy superpack (through easy_install) from C. Fonnesbeck (http://trichech.us) and receive and error when plotting (example below).

Personally I do not know enough to diagnose it nor fix the problem. what is _wx.py relate to? How am I getting C++ assertion failures, shouldn’t this go through gcc?

Thanks for the help. Jon

system: mac os 10.5, python 2.5.1

Problem:

from pylab import *

plot([1,2,3,4])
[<matplotlib.lines.Line2D object at 0x6ae9a90>]

show()
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/Library/Python/2.5/site-packages/matplotlib-0.98pre-py2.5-macosx-10.5-i386.egg/matplotlib/backends/backend_wx.py”, line 1019, in _onPaint
self.gui_repaint(drawDC=wx.PaintDC(self))
File “/Library/Python/2.5/site-packages/matplotlib-0.98pre-py2.5-macosx-10.5-i386.egg/matplotlib/backends/backend_wx.py”, line 924, in gui_repaint
wx.GetApp().Yield()
File “/BinaryCache/wxWidgets/wxWidgets-11~57/Root/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.5/Extras/lib/python/wx-2.8-mac-unicode/wx/_core.py”, line 7119, in Yield
wx._core.PyAssertionError: C++ assertion “wxAssertFailure” failed at …/src/mac/carbon/app.cpp(1152) in Yield(): wxYield called recursively
File “/Library/Python/2.5/site-packages/matplotlib-0.98pre-py2.5-macosx-10.5-i386.egg/matplotlib/backends/backend_wx.py”, line 1019, in _onPaint
File “/Library/Python/2.5/site-packages/matplotlib-0.98pre-py2.5-macosx-10.5-i386.egg/matplotlib/backends/backend_wx.py”, line 924, in gui_repaint
wx.GetApp().Yield()
File “/BinaryCache/wxWidgets/wxWidgets-11~57/Root/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.5/Extras/lib/python/wx-2.8-mac-unicode/wx/_core.py”, line 7119, in Yield
wx._core.PyAssertionError: C++ assertion “wxAssertFailure” failed at …/src/mac/carbon/app.cpp(1152) in Yield(): wxYield called recursively
wx.GetApp().Yield()