Memory leaks

I've been looking into the memory leaks exercised by the memleak_gui.py unit test. I've searched through the mailing list for information, but I'm new to the party here, so forgive me if I'm not fully current.

Eric Firing wrote:
"I think we have a similar problem with all interactive backends (the only one I didn't test is Qt4Agg) which also makes me suspect we are violating some gui rule, rather than that gtk, qt3, wx, and tk all have leaks."

Unfortunately, from what I've seen, there isn't a single rule being broken, but instead I've been running into lots of different "surprises" in the various toolkits. But I am starting to suspect that my old versions of Gtk (or PyGtk) have some bonafide leaks.

I just finished submitting patches (to the tracker) for a number of memory leaks in the Tk, Gtk, and Wx backends (other backends will hopefully follow). I did all my testing on RHEL4 with Python 2.5 and recent SVN matplotlib (rev. 3244), so it's quite possible that memory leaks still remain on other platforms.

Tk:
See the patch:
http://sourceforge.net/tracker/index.php?func=detail&aid=1745400&group_id=80706&atid=560722

Even after this patch, Tkinter still leaks 28 bytes every time it is initialized (every time a toplevel window is created). There may be a way to avoid the subsequent initializations, but it wasn't immediately obvious to me, and given the small size of this leak, I've passed on it for now.

Gtk:
See the patch:
http://sourceforge.net/tracker/index.php?func=detail&aid=1745406&group_id=80706&atid=560722

The patch fixes a number of Python-level leaks.
Unfortunately, the Gdk rendering backend still leaks gtk.gdk.Window objects, and I have so far been unable to determine a fix. GtkAgg, however, does not have this leak.
Under pygtk-2.4.0, the toolbars leak gdk.Pixbuf's and file selector dialogs.