matplotlib Redhat 9.0 install problems

Hi, I'm new to using matplotlib and am having some problems installing the software package. Basically my setup is:
* Redhat 9.0
* gcc 3.3
* Python 2.4 (installed in a non-standard location)
* freetype 2.1.9 and numarray 1.2.2 also installed in a non-standard location.

Following the instructions on the matplotlib homepage, I:
1. Substitute:
  'linux2' : [
with:
  'linux2' : [os.environ['ACSROOT'], os.environ['PYTHON_ROOT']

within matplotlib-0.72.1/setupext.py. The ACSROOT environment variable is where numarray is installed and the numarray headers can be found in $ACSROOT/include/numarray/.
2. Set BUILD_AGG=1
3. Run the command 'python setup.py build' which gives output that looks correct until gcc is executed:
  running build_ext
  building 'matplotlib._na_transforms' extension
  creating build/temp.linux-i686-2.4
  creating build/temp.linux-i686-2.4/src
  creating build/temp.linux-i686-2.4/CXX
  gcc -fno-strict-aliasing -DNDEBUG -g -O3 -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes -pipe -D_POSIX_THREADS -D_POSIX_THREAD_SAFE_FUNCTIONS -D_REENTRANT -DACE_HAS_AIO_CALLS -fcheck-new -Wall -fPIC -g -DDEBUG -O -DCCS_LIGHT -fPIC -Isrc -I. -I/alma/ACS-4.0/Python/include/python2.4 -c src/_na_transforms.cpp -o build/temp.linux-i686-2.4/src/_na_transforms.o -DNUMARRAY=1
  In file included from /alma/ACS-4.0/Python/include/python2.4/Python.h:8,
                   from CXX/Objects.hxx:9,
                   from CXX/Extensions.hxx:18,
                   from src/_transforms.h:12,
                   from src/_na_transforms.cpp:2:
  /alma/ACS-4.0/Python/include/python2.4/pyconfig.h:835:1: warning: "_POSIX_C_SOURCE" redefined
  In file included from /alma/ACS-4.0/gnu/include/c++/3.3/i386-redhat-linux/bits/os_defines.h:39,
                   from /alma/ACS-4.0/gnu/include/c++/3.3/i386-redhat-linux/bits/c++config.h:35,
                   from /alma/ACS-4.0/gnu/include/c++/3.3/functional:53,
                   from src/_na_transforms.cpp:1: