matplotlib on mac os x question

Hi,

I am new to matplotlib and having trouble running a simple example, which I found on one of the tutorial pages:

import matplotlib.pyplot as plt
plt.plot([1,2,3])
plt.ylabel('some numbers')
plt.show()

The problem I encounter is that no plot actually shows up when I run the above sequence on my idle session.
I am running on Mac OS X 10.5.6 and if anyone can give me some help, I would appreciate it.

Python: 2.5.4
idle: 1.2.4
matplotlib: 0.98.5.3

WM

Hi Walid, I'm new to mpl, too, but I just installed it on OSX and first had that problem, too. I solved it because I did not have libpng/libjpeg installed, for which a pkg installer for OSX is available here:

http://ethan.tira-thompson.org/Mac_OS_X_Ports.html

Hope this solves your problem, too!

Regards,
Florian

···

On 18 Aug 2009, at 02:11, Walid Majid wrote:

Hi,

I am new to matplotlib and having trouble running a simple example, which I found on one of the tutorial pages:

import matplotlib.pyplot as plt
plt.plot([1,2,3])
plt.ylabel('some numbers')
plt.show()

The problem I encounter is that no plot actually shows up when I run the above sequence on my idle session.
I am running on Mac OS X 10.5.6 and if anyone can give me some help, I would appreciate it.

Python: 2.5.4
idle: 1.2.4
matplotlib: 0.98.5.3

WM

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Let Crystal Reports handle the reporting - Free Crystal Reports 2008 30-Day
trial. Simplify your report design, integration and deployment - and focus on
what you do best, core application coding. Discover what's new with
Crystal Reports now. http://p.sf.net/sfu/bobj-july