Interpolation in a triangular mesh (tri.Triangulation)

Hi!

I had recently to develop interpolators for a function defined at the nodes
of a user-specified triangular mesh.
(Beside interpolation, it can help producing higher-quality tricontour
plots, using interpolation on a refined mesh and matplotlib tricontour
function.)

Being a regular user of matplotlib, I would be happy if it can be useful to
others...
The code is hosted here:
https://github.com/GBillotey/trimesh-interpolator.git

Please let me know if it this dev. can be useful and if the code needs some
cleaning (I am not a computer scientist, only a mechanical engineer)

Cheers,
Geoffroy.

···

--
View this message in context: http://matplotlib.1069221.n5.nabble.com/Interpolation-in-a-triangular-mesh-tri-Triangulation-tp39586.html
Sent from the matplotlib - devel mailing list archive at Nabble.com.

Hi Geoffroy

This will certainly be very useful. I need to spend some time looking at it and seeing how it would best fit within the matplotlib framework, particularly as only a few days ago I committed to writing a triangular grid interpolator for quad grids and it would be sensible to group these interpolators together in some way.

I’ll get back to you when I’ve had time to look at it.

Thanks for your efforts!
Ian

···

On 28 October 2012 20:17, GBillotey <geoffroy.billotey@…149…> wrote:

Hi!

function.)

others…

The code is hosted here:

Cheers,

Geoffroy.

Hi Geoffroy,

I have had some time to look at your TriLinearInterpolator in some detail (the other two files only briefly). I would indeed like to add something like this to matplotlib - the mesh refinement looks very nice and the interpolators would be useful to many people.