Friction points in learning Matplotlib

This is a general catch all thread, especially those coming from different visualization tools, to talk about the friction points in migrating to Matplotlib.

I’m a physicist (here via your excellent Twitter outreach) working with people using matplotlib or bokeh so I’m trying to migrate from my old tools - I’ve been using CERN ROOT, either in their sort of C interface or via pyroot, for twenty years. There’s a lot of statistical support there for fitting, but ok, I can grab stuff from scipy. I’m not a very enthusiastic migrator, but here are a couple of things that bug me.

I have trouble remembering scatter vs hist vs plot vs hist2d; I don’t know how to make a profile. In ROOT I’m at least inheriting from the same class, and a 2d plot is a scatter plot or a profile plot based on putting something like “scatter=True” or “profile” in the constructor. I use the same syntax or actual code to access info from these objects. In matplotlib I don’t know - too lazy no doubt to RTFM - where the object is, or what the class structure is. I see a lot of “n, bins, patches = plt.hist(…)” - what is that? Why don’t I do h = plt.hist(…) and bins = h.getBins() or something? Also I’m constantly having trouble with plt.show() in my scripts. And when I do something dumb like plot two histos on a canvas with different axes I get something hard to interpret not an error. Oh, and I wish I could make a 2d hist with a (2, n) numpy array instead of destacking.

1 Like