edit EPS

Hello,

I need your help! I have an image, saved in .eps (vector) format.

Now the image is just a couple of plots with a legend, saved in colour, but without special tick marks to differentiate the plots. What I need to do now is *add the tick marks*. A diamond to one plot, a little cross for another etc. The original data that produced the plots is gone, I only have the .eps to work with.

I tried editing the image with PIL, but as soon as I load the image it becomes rasterized (=a small matrix of pixels, unusably ugly).

Is there any way to edit the EPS in matplotlib? Or maybe some other, easier way to add the plot marks ex post? I am no expert on vector graphic formats.

I'm using py2.5 w/ matplotlib 1.0.0, but can install any other soft if necessary.

Many thanks!

Now the image is just a couple of plots with a legend, saved in colour, but without special tick marks to differentiate the plots. What I need to do now is *add the tick marks*. A diamond to one plot, a little cross for another etc. The original data that produced the plots is gone, I only have the .eps to work with.

darn!

I tried editing the image with PIL, but as soon as I load the image it becomes rasterized (=a small matrix of pixels, unusably ugly).

right, PIL is a raster tool. There is some hope that you could have PIL rasterize it with much higher resolution for better quality, but it's really not what you are looking for.

Is there any way to edit the EPS in matplotlib?

no -- that is not at all what MPL is about.

Or maybe some other, easier way to add the plot marks ex post? I am no expert on vector graphic formats.

I'd use a vector graphics program. EPS is almost the same as Adobe Illustrator's format, for instance.

InkScape is a really nice cross platform open source vector graphics tool. It's native format is SVG. I'll bet you could find a way to convert the EPS to svg, or, if you're lucky, InkScape can read EPS.