close a figure after show , when plotting many figures from script- using matplotlib.pyplot.figure

Hi

I am a relative newbie to matplotlib.

I have a python script that handles a dataset that comprises 384 sets of data.

At the present moment , I read in a set of data - process it - and the create a figure using code shown below.

I am using windows with the default backend ( I think I set it to wx).

When I run the program, figure after figure shows up…the program continues from well to well plotting the figure. I can close the figure window using the X on the right -hand side…while the program chugs along.

Is there a way to just recycle the figure object , so that the plot shows up for a brief second and refreshes when the next calculation is complete. Each process_data function , takes a few minutes.

Alternatively I just want to close the figure object I show after a brief lag. I am OK if that happens instantaneously…but I dont know how to achieve this.

Do I have to use the matplotlib.Figure object to achieve this functionality

Thanks

Hari

from matplotlib.pyplot import figure

def do_my_plot(well_id):

processed_data_object = processed_dict[well_id]

fig = figure(figsize=(7,7)

ax = fig.add_subplot(1,1,1)

par1 =ax.twinx()

par2 = ax.twinx()

Plot all the data

par1.plot(processed_data_object.raw_x,processed_data_object.raw_y).

par2.plot(…

finally

fig.show()

I tried fig.clf()

def plot_and_process_data():

for well_id in list_of_384_well_ids:

process_data(well_id)

do_my_plot(well_id)

Hari,

You can give a number to figure(), as in figure(1), and it will reuse figure 1. Also, you can close figure 1 with pyplot.close(1).

-Sterling

···

On Oct 16, 2012, at 8:25AM, hari jayaram wrote:

Hi

At the present moment , I read in a set of data - process it - and the create a figure using code shown below.