Best way to set scales bounds to appropriate values

Hi, I’m a matplotlib newbie.

An example is worth a thousand words:

In [1]: matplotlib.version

Out[1]: ‘0.99.3’

In [2]: a, b, x = np.zeros(10), np.ones(10), np.arange(10)

In [3]: plot(x, a); plot(x, b)

Well all I see is an empty plot with the two horizontal lines at y=0 and y=1 covered by the upper and lower frame lines.

Why aren’t bounds set a little more larger so the two lines can show properly???

I guess this is a common situation, for example 2 or more stable temperatures: the higher and the lower never show…

How can I fix it?

Thanks for your support.

This will do :

pyplot.xlim(-5,15)

pyplot.ylim(-5,5)

HTH.

Thomas

···

Thomas Lecocq
Geologist
Ph.D.Student (Seismology)
Royal Observatory of Belgium

Date: Wed, 9 Feb 2011 11:53:17 +0100
To: matplotlib-users@lists.sourceforge.net
Subject: [Matplotlib-users] Best way to set scales bounds to appropriate values

Well all I see is an empty plot with the two horizontal lines at y=0 and y=1 covered by the upper and lower frame lines.

Why aren’t bounds set a little more larger so the two lines can show properly???

I guess this is a common situation, for example 2 or more stable temperatures: the higher and the lower never show…

How can I fix it?

Thanks for your support.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------ The ultimate all-in-one performance toolkit: Intel® Parallel Studio XE: Pinpoint memory and threading errors before they happen. Find and fix more than 250 security defects in the development cycle. Locate bottlenecks in serial and parallel code that limit performance. http://p.sf.net/sfu/intel-dev2devfeb
_______________________________________________ Matplotlib-users mailing list Matplotlib-users@lists.sourceforge.net https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/matplotlib-users

Well, not that automatic…