Animated bar graph question

I’m very new to MPL, and I’m having a blast with it - great work. I’ve looked around the docs, lists and other random places for a hint on this, but I’m still stumped.

The goal is simple: I’d like to create a very basic animated bar or barh chart. I’ve been playing via ion() from the IPython shell but I run into the following issue: The bar is painted correctly, but any value lower than the max doesn’t show up, as the max value bar doesn’t clear. For example, from IPython:

bar(10+0.25, 10) shows perfectly, then an update (using interactive mode set to on)
bar(10+0.25, 4)

…shows a new bar with a y value of 4, but the old bar (value 10) is still painted. As a result, it doesn’t look quite right.

Is there an easy way to clear the old max value bar?

Thanks for any advice.

Regards,
Matt

Matt C wrote:

I'm very new to MPL, and I'm having a blast with it - great work. I've looked around the docs, lists and other random places for a hint on this, but I'm still stumped.

The goal is simple: I'd like to create a very basic animated bar or barh chart. I've been playing via ion() from the IPython shell but I run into the following issue: The bar is painted correctly, but any value lower than the max doesn't show up, as the max value bar doesn't clear. For example, from IPython:

bar(10+0.25, 10) shows perfectly, then an update (using interactive mode set to on)
bar(10+0.25, 4)

Try adding a clf(), which clears the current figure, in between the calls to bar. Another option is to use hold(False) signals that you want a new plotting command to start from a clean slate.

Ryan

···

--
Ryan May
Graduate Research Assistant
School of Meteorology
University of Oklahoma