Developing Matplotlib Entry Paths Proposal

Developing Matplotlib Entry Paths Proposal

Introduction

Matplotlib’s project suggestion for this year’s Google Season of Docs involves creating content that helps introduce Matplotlib to new users. For Developing Matplotlib Entry Paths, I propose an alternative approach to that of current documentation. I am a new technical writer to the industry; however, my background is in education and education-adjacent fields. Technical writing and education have strong parallels that focus on producing content that empathizes and enables users to accomplish their tasks with the resources provided.

In this context, the Matplotlib documentation would benefit with improvement to empathizing with new users. Much of the material at the moment consists of randomized data and unlabeled visuals. These are excellent for quickly displaying the visuals and the features of Matplotlib. However, for the use case of someone new to Matplotlib, it is challenging to traverse the transformation of data to visuals.

A context in an expository approach is a solution to this obstacle. By writing a procedure through the lens of a real world example, we are demonstrating an understanding of the environment in which a user works. This improves the relationship the documentation and user have in terms of the reaching a goal or expectation of accomplishing a task.

A user has a consistent derived purpose, For example, a data scientist at a shoe company must present customer data to a team to illustrate shopping trends over time. In this situation, the user must learn to navigate Matplotlib and take advantage of the tools within the library to complete the task at hand.